Journey through the Book of Mormon: Alma 20 (I will not)

15 But Lamoni said unto him: I will not slay Ammon, neither will I return to the land of Ishmael, but I go to the land of Middoni that I may release the brethren of Ammon, for I know that they are just men and holy prophets of the true God.

I love the story of Lamoni and his father. In particular I admire Lamoni’s faith. I imagine how difficult it must have been to stand up to his father and to reject all of the cultural doctrines that he had grown up with.

As someone who had to face familial opposition to join the church, I could relate to his struggle. It is hard to stand against history and tradition. But Lamoni truly understood that there were somethings more important than tradition or even family. He realized that the Gospel of Christ was true and that this was all that truly mattered.

Leave a Reply

