Education week 2012 notes- Robert Millet: Knowing Christ part one

Robert L. ‘Millet

Knowing Christ: If Jesus is the answer, what’s the question

When as a bishop in Florida- could sense that there was something wrong with a family. Delayed acting on the impressions. Their question- is this it? Where do we go from here?

If we are not careful in the church we can allow those singular moments in our lives to become ends in themselves when they are just means to an end. Even temple marriage is a means to an end not an end in and of itself. Need to focus on the things they point to.

This is not at all uncommon- for a person to be keeping the commandments and yet not sensing
the great end.

The great end in this life is coming to know God. All of these things are means to coming to know him. We go to the temple not because it’s the end of the experience but because it promotes deeper spirituality and helps us know god and know Christ

Isaiah 1:2-3
2 Hear, O heavens, and give ear, O earth: for the Lord hath spoken, I have nourished and brought up children, and they have rebelled against me.
3 The ox knoweth his owner, and the ass his master’s crib: but Israel doth not know, my people doth not consider. (Old Testament, Isaiah, Chapter 1)

Isaiah 5:13
13 ¶Therefore my people are gone into captivity, because they have no knowledge: and their honourable men are famished, and their multitude dried up with thirst. (Old Testament, Isaiah, Chapter 5)

Couple was dying of spiritual thirst!
Know almost always implies more than cognitive understanding but experiential knowing. Not knowing means not having the required experiences with god

Hosea 4:1
1 Hear the word of the Lord, ye children of Israel: for the Lord hath a controversy with the inhabitants of the land, because there is no truth, nor mercy, nor knowledge of God in the land. 6 ¶My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: because thou hast rejected knowledge, I will also reject thee, that thou shalt be no priest to me: seeing thou hast forgotten the law of thy God, I will also forget thy children. (Old Testament, Hosea, Chapter 4)

Hebrew word implies close intimate knowledge. Same word as intimate knowing.

Not saying they don’t know a list of things of God

Exams in religious department- question one: name the seven things that made Jesus great.

Hosea 6

1 Come, and let us return unto the Lord: for he hath torn, and he will heal us; he hath smitten, and he will bind us up.
2 After two days will he revive us: in the third day he will raise us up, and we shall live in his sight.
3 Then shall we know, if we follow on to know the Lord: his going forth is prepared as the morning; and he shall come unto us as the rain, as the latter and former rain unto the earth. (Old Testament, Hosea, Chapter 6)

Is this because God just needs or devotion- no he can get along fine without us. He knows WE need it. We need to be righteously obsessed with him. Not going off on gospel hobbies

This is life eternal that they may know thee the only true god

3 And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent. (New Testament, John, Chapter 17)

Know a friend- know their likes and dislikes strengths and ambitions etc

God and Christ are in the people business

Moses 1:39

Above all that God he is interested in us and our growth
We come to know people by spending significant time with them

King Benjamin – how knoweth a man that he has not served

Mosiah 5:13- come to know god as we serve him.

When we truly know someone we feel love appreciated valued safe and secure with this person. We. Trust them.

Getting to know god is very important- we are the only people that believe that God is an exalted man of holiness with a body of flesh and bones. To know that tells us something about his nature. He isn’t just a force or a collection of energy, but he is an exalted being whose goal is to bring or exaltation to pass.

We focus a great deal on the physicality of god because they make him more like us, but there are also many things that make him quite unlike us.

Moses 1: after great vision Satan tries to get Moses to worship him. Where is your glory that I should worship you? I can discern between you and him! The more personal experiences we have with god and the spirit the more we are able to discern between the true and false and avoid deception

God is a being of great glory.

Moses went up into the cloud on mount Sinai- shenkinah ( presence of God) Exodus 24:15-17

Isaiah 33 who among us shall dwell with the devouring fire

14 The sinners in Zion are afraid; fearfulness hath surprised the hypocrites. Who among us shall dwell with the devouring fire? who among us shall dwell with everlasting burnings?
15 He that walketh righteously, and speaketh uprightly; he that despiseth the gain of oppressions, that shaketh his hands from holding of bribes, that stoppeth his ears from hearing of blood, and shutteth his eyes from seeing evil;
16 He shall dwell on high: his place of defence shall be the munitions of rocks: bread shall be given him; his waters shall be sure.
17 Thine eyes shall see the king in his beauty: they shall behold the land that is very far off. (Old Testament, Isaiah, Chapter 33)

Those who are not obsessed with wickedness. Do not dwell on what is wrong

Oct 1973- Bruce R. McKonkie
I desire to counsel the later day saints to take a wholesome and positive view of national events

Now I desire very much to have the same spirit attend me that has rested so mightily upon these others who have stood here so that what I say will be what the Lord wants said on this occasion. I desire, if I may be so guided, to counsel the Latter-day Saints to take an affirmative, wholesome attitude toward world and national conditions; to turn their backs on everything that is evil and destructive; to look for that which is good and edifying in all things; to praise the Lord for his goodness and grace in giving us the glories and wonders of his everlasting gospel. (1973 October General Conference, “Think on These Things”, Sat. Morning Session – Bruce R. McConkie)

Those who dwell on sexual immorality will themselves become immoral!

How consoling to the mortals to know that the loved one shall come forth to everlasting burnings. King Follet discourse.

Moses- this god will I worship the one of glories.

Lectures on faith- learn the forgoing respecting God: he was god before the world was created and the same God after; he is merciful and gracious slow to anger and abiding in mercy; from everlasting to everlasting in his attributes. Changes not nor is there variable mess; god of truth; no respector of persons he is love the very embodiment of love

Elder holland- god and Christ can not help but love us. It’s what they do

Forgoing is the character given of god to former and also latter day saints- both alike in our grounds to have faith in god. Same character given to both.

Some attributes of Gos: knowledge, faith or power, justice, judgement, mercy and truth

Without knowledge God would be unable to save his creatures- God knows me and my weaknesses so well. I know he knows my needs even better than I do.

Unless we know these things we can’t exercise Saving knowledge

1 Ne 10

17 And it came to pass after I, Nephi, having heard all the words of my father, concerning the things which he saw in a vision, and also the things which he spake by the power of the Holy Ghost, which power he received by faith on the Son of God—and the Son of God was the Messiah who should come—I, Nephi, was desirous also that I might see, and hear, and know of these things, by the power of the Holy Ghost, which is the gift of God unto all those who diligently seek him, as well in times of old as in the time that he should manifest himself unto the children of men.
18 For he is the same yesterday, today, and forever; and the way is prepared for all men from the foundation of the world, if it so be that they repent and come unto him.
19 For he that diligently seeketh shall find; and the mysteries of God shall be unfolded unto them, by the power of the Holy Ghost, as well in these times as in times of old, and as well in times of old as in times to come; wherefore, the course of the Lord is one eternal round. (Book of Mormon, 1 Nephi, Chapter 10)

god does not respect just office holders but all

It’s very important to know about God!

Matthew 7 / 3 Ne 14

21 ¶Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven. (New Testament, Matthew, Chapter 7)

Shows that works are important, but that’s not all that its saying… Many will tell him all the things they have DONE in Christ’s name.

Not just those that talk the talk will be saved but also not just those that do works

JST- You never knew me.

If I am doing all of the things associated with membership but those works are not changing me then I’ve missed something

Elder oaks- Oct 2000- challenge to become. Things we do should transform and build our character

( I should not be surprised by the fact that my mission experience changed me forever. I should embrace them. They show that I served and served
Right.)

Alma – Alma had no desire to trifle with the souls of men. As alma gets down and pleased for direction

Mosiah 26:15 -22 is a lengthy quotation from the savior

22 For behold, this is my church; whosoever is baptized shall be baptized unto repentance. And whomsoever ye receive shall believe in my name; and him will I freely forgive.
23 For it is I that taketh upon me the sins of the world; for it is I that hath created them; and it is I that granteth unto him that believeth unto the end a place at my right hand.
24 For behold, in my name are they called; and if they know me they shall come forth, and shall have a place eternally at my right hand.
25 And it shall come to pass that when the second trump shall sound then shall they that never knew me come forth and shall stand before me.
26 And then shall they know that I am the Lord their God, that I am their Redeemer; but they would not be redeemed.
27 And then I will confess unto them that I never knew them; and they shall depart into everlasting fire prepared for the devil and his angels. (Book of Mormon, Mosiah, Chapter 26)

Need to truly know the savior in order to be saved!

Even as we are active we need to plead for our works to transform us into people that truly know God

Doing the works just to escape hell or to just do what we need to do is an okay motivation at first but we need to get to the point where we are doing it because that’s what Christians do.

Billboard – Jesus is the answer
But what’s the question?

What are the questions for which Jesus Christ is the only correct answer?

Where is peace to be found in this world?
I’ve been hurt so many times is there no one I can trust?
What is the answer to societies ills?
Is there anything constant in this world that I can hold to?
I’ve done all I can do to fix the situation- what do I do now?

( President Packer- if you can not undo what you have done you may want to give up, but restoring what you can not restore and fixing what you can not fix is the very purpose of the atonement. The law of restitution is suspended and the lord will settle your accounts . Oct 1995 conference)

( I can rest assured that Christ has forgiven me for my past transgressions. I don’t need I worry about them)

C.S. Lewis- I know that God is as I know the son has risen.

Leave a Reply

